The work of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) is guided by its members and overseen by its Executive Board of Directors.

The Executive Board of Directors is supported by an elected Executive Committee as well as by the Audit Committee and Nominating Committee. All worldsteel officers, including the Chair and members of those Committees  are elected during the general meetings of members under the advisement of the Nominating Committee.

Main member representatives of Regular and Affiliated members (referred to as Board of Members) can participate and vote during the general meeting of members. Each member has at least one vote and additional voting rights are set in Article 2 of the Internal Regulations of worldsteel.

Day to day operations of the association are administered by a Director General, who is appointed by the Executive Board. worldsteel’s current Director General is Edwin Basson.

2023-2024 Office Bearers

The following office bearers were elected for a one-year term in October 2023.


Leon J. TOPALIAN, President & Chief Executive Officer, Nucor Corporation


Jeong-Woo CHOI, CEO, POSCO Holdings


Thachat Viswanath NARENDRAN, Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director, Tata Steel


Mark VASSELLA, Managing Director & CEO, BlueScope Steel Limited

Chair of worldstainless

Timoteo DI MAULO, CEO, Aperam

The Board of Members has also elected the 2023/2024 Executive Committee:

  • Salah AL-ANSARI – President, HADEED, Saudi Iron & Steel Company (a SABIC affiliate)
  • David BURRITT – President and Chief Executive Officer, United States Steel Corporation
  • Jeong-Woo CHOI – CEO, POSCO Holdings
  • Uğur DALBELER – CEO, Çolakoğlu Metalurji A.Ş.
  • Eiji HASHIMOTO – Representative Director and President, Nippon Steel Corporation
  • Masayuki HIROSE – President & CEO, JFE Steel Corporation
  • HU Wangming – Chairman, China Baowu Steel Group Corporation Limited
  • Sajjan JINDAL – Chairman and Managing Director, JSW Steel Limited
  • André Bier Gerdau JOHANNPETER – Executive Vice Chairman, Gerdau S.A.
  • Lakshmi N. MITTAL – Executive Chairman, ArcelorMittal
  • Alexey A. MORDASHOV – Chairman of the Board of Directors, Severstal (PAO) (passive member)
  • Thachat Viswanath NARENDRAN – Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director, Tata Steel
  • Paolo ROCCA – President and CEO, Techint Group
  • Leon TOPALIAN – President & Chief Executive Officer, Nucor Corporation
  • YU Yong – Chairman, HBIS Group Co., Ltd.
  • Hubert ZAJICEK – Member of the Board, CEO of Steel Division, voestalpine AG
  • Edwin BASSON, Director General, World Steel Association (worldsteel), as Secretary