该项目获得2022年“可持续发展卓越成就奖”

韩国每年生产约50万吨贝类,其中蚝壳约占70%。蚝在韩国大部分海岸线都有广泛养殖。每年蚝壳产量约为30万吨,但仅60%-70%被回收利用。

考虑到南方沿海地区蚝壳废物的大量产出,蚝壳管理水平有待提高。对海洋和开阔森林擅自倾倒废壳,尤其可能造成海洋污染、疾病和恶臭。

无论从环境和卫生的角度,还是从社会和经济的角度来看,废壳处理不当都会带来多重副作用,鉴于此,浦项制铁积极探索废壳回收方法。研究发现,贝壳的成分接近烧结用的石灰石,于是着手研究贝壳替代石灰石的不同办法。

每使用废壳替代1吨石灰石,最高可避免产生460千克二氧化碳。不仅如此,废壳回收还能削减标准化处置成本,帮助解决无差别倾倒造的环境问题。浦项制铁从2021年开始使用废壳,并且还将继续推动资源循环,促进环境、经济和社会的稳定。

Winner of the Excellence in sustainability Steelie Award 2022

South Korea produces an average of 500,000 tons of shellfish annually, and oysters account for approximately 70%. Oysters are intensively cultured in most coastal areas of Korea. The annual output of oyster shells is approximately 300,000 tons in volume, but only 60-70% is recycled.

Considering the substantial production of shell waste along the south coast, shell waste needs better management. Occurrences of marine pollution, diseases, and odours are particularly concerning in the case of unauthorised dumping into the ocean and open forests.

Given there are multiple side effects of disposing of shell waste from the perspective of environmental, hygienic, social, and financial implications, POSCO set out actively to look for ways to recycle shell waste. After determining that shells are similar in composition to the limestone used for sintering, POSCO studied different ways to substitute shell waste for limestone.

By replacing 1 tonne of limestone with shell waste, up to 460kg of CO2 can be avoided. Moreover, shell waste recycling can cut standardised disposal costs and help address many of the environmental problems caused by indiscriminate dumping. POSCO started utilising shell waste in 2021 and continues to promote resource circulation to achieve environmental, economic, and social sustainability.