12 April 2022

The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has recognised 10 companies as Steel Sustainability Champions for their work in 2021. Now in its fifth year, the Steel Sustainability Champions Programme commends those steel companies that are most clearly demonstrating their commitment and action to sustainable development.

The 2022 Steel Sustainability Champions are:

  • ArcelorMittal
  • BlueScope Steel Limited
  • JFE Steel Corporation
  • JSW Steel Limited
  • Nippon Steel Corporation
  • Tata Steel Europe
  • Tata Steel Limited
  • Tenaris
  • Ternium

Recognised for the fifth consecutive year this year, Tata Steel Europe, Tata Steel Limited and Tenaris have been Champions every year since the programme’s launch in 2018. POSCO is recognised for the first time.

At the beginning of March this year, worldsteel announced the launch of its new Sustainability Charter. The newly updated Charter includes 9 principles and 20 criteria covering the areas of environment, social, governance and economics (ESGE). To be able to sign the Charter, steel companies must meet the 20 criteria and thus demonstrate their commitment to being a sustainable company and to worldsteel’s sustainability programmes.

Signing the Charter is the basis for eligibility to become a Sustainability Champion, but Charter Members must go even further. They must also do the following to be recognised as Sustainability Champions:

  • Provide Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) data to worldsteel’s data collection programme. The data for LCI should cover more than 60% of the company’s crude steel production and should be less than 5 years old. This threshold has increased from 50% of a company’s crude steel production in previous years, raising the bar for this year’s Champions even further.
  • Be shortlisted in one of the 5 categories of the worldsteel Steelie Awards or must be recognised in the worldsteel Safety and Health Recognition Programme. The Steelie categories are: Excellence in sustainability, Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment, Excellence in education and training, Innovation of the year and Excellence in communications programmes.

Champions are normally presented with certificates at the April Special General Meeting (SGM) of the Board of Members. Ongoing travel restrictions made this difficult this year, but photographs of Champion Main Member Representatives (MMRs) with their certificates are available on Flickr (click here).

More information on worldsteel’s sustainability initiatives is available here.



The World Steel Association (worldsteel) is one of the largest and most dynamic industry associations in the world, with members in every major steel-producing country. worldsteel represents steel producers, national and regional steel industry associations, and steel research institutes. Members represent around 85% of global steel production.

Go back